Being shameless

I am an aspiring painter. I am an aspiring entertainer. I am… not getting anywhere because I have no idea how to promote myself.

Raised to never talk about my abilities to others (because “people will notice it themselves without you boasting.”),  broadcasting what I can do feels so counterintuitive, I change the topic before anyone understands what I’m trying to say.

My timidity stems from the awareness that I am not the best. I fall within the range of pretty decent to good, but since I’m only good at best, I always worry that people will judge me for being proud of nothing that great.

IMG_4700.jpg

But now, after having perused numerous Instagram, DeviantArt, and YouTube pages, I’ve concluded that the most popular aren’t necessarily the best at what they do. They’re just the people who post the most content and are, in some cases, the most shameless.

Frankly, I think much of the world has changed their definition of what boastful is. Unless you’re completely crappy with a mismatched ego, it’s almost as if everyone is open to what you have to say and what you can do. (Of course, this is ignoring the trolls who tell even the greatest they suck.)

I’m beginning to learn that this world has developed a culture that appreciates sharing, and with that, it is no longer taboo to be shameless about your work as a creative.

I think that this is something that I can learn to adjust to, and eventually it might even be something I like.

So first in this attempt to be more open with strangers on the internet is this blog (…where I am trying my best to post at least weekly). Next is the revival of my YouTube Channel. And when I’m really comfortable, maybe I’ll start sharing my other work too.

 

 

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I nominated you for a Liebster Award! View the official rules here: http://theglobalaussie.com/the-official-rules-of-the-liebster-award-2016/

    Like

    1. Thank you for the nomination! I’d like to be able to work on this, but I have deadlines to meet and I don’t think I’ll have enough time.

      I’m really flattered though! All the best with your blog. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

